JB Hearts Our (Last) Summer 2011 Intern!

If you’re a regular reader, then you’ve been hearing about our summer interns. We have one final face of Summer 2011 to share… Blair Kawa.

Blair is a senior interior design major at SCAD Savannah. This summer she worked in the design studio as a design assistant. Just a few of her tasks included expediting orders, calling for memos, approving samples, talking with reps, finding furniture, drawing plans, photographing client’s homes, installing new projects, AND… dun, dun, daaah… adding sparkle to the J Banks blog!!  The blog is a team effort that could never reflect the true nature of J Banks without everyone’s creativity and input, but Blair’s graphic design magic has created pizzazz and visual interest!  Using her publishing skills to to pull together all the parts  – photography, interviews, and concepts – have been a fabulous asset to developing our story.

We asked Blair to pull together a few things that she loves to give us a snap shot of her design style and personal flair.

JB: What is your design style?

Blair: Classically Quirky!  I love the formal qualities of traditional design, but I have an irresistible pull to the eclectic and bohemian. It’s all mixed up with my love-hate relationship with color… more love than hate, obviously.

JB: What are some of your goals?

Blair: Design! Design! Design! Interior design puts the pep in my step every day. No matter where I live, where I work, or what particular job I’m doing, I will be doing interior design. One day I’d LOOOVE to design a hotel or a museum. Or a Balinese hut on stilts? A girl can dream…

JB: Is interior design what you’ve always wanted to do?

Blair: Actually… I graduated with a degree in political theory!  I worked in Washington D.C. for The President’s Council on Bioethics and wrote a thesis on bioethics in public policy making. Weird, right?

JB: Wow. Neat experience! And what is one of your biggest accomplishments?

Blair: Well… I got my black belt in martial arts… and I’ve traveled to over 24 different countries… I think diversity is the name of the game. I’m proud that I’m a very diverse person, and I think my design reflects that sensibility.

JB: What’s one of the biggest lessons you’ve learned at J Banks?

Blair: I can’t pick!  It’s been the whole package deal!  This summer I learned how to be a real (as opposed to “school”) interior designer…. and I learned that I have a LOT MORE TO LEARN.  J Banks has been the perfect School Of Life… Having the chance to be here was worth more pure gold.

If J. Banks is the School of Life, Blair has made the grade! Thanks for all the cheerful help, and best of luck as you round out your final year of school…

JB

The future is bright!

JB

Leave a comment

Filed under J Banks Design Group

Leave a Reply

