JB Hearts Our Interns

Every summer J. Banks gets many eager applications for a position as a summer intern. The spots have become coveted and applications competitive. This summer our interns have always been ready to help, learn, try new things, and grow.

We’ve loved getting to know them… so we thought you would too…

Ashley — a native Hilton Head Islander — is a junior at Winthrop University. She majors in interior design… and she is considering taking up a minor in Sustainability. (Cool, right?)

Her job this summer has been to manage the materials library, find “just the thing” (fabric, furniture, or lighting) for our busy designers, order samples, call on pricing, and so much more… all the things that keep the J.Banks gears turning.

When we asked about her personal style, Ashley said, “I’m young, so I’m still figuring that out… but I lean towards transitional, contemporary.”

When we asked about her favorite ice cream, Ashley was less tentative… “Butterfinger!” she declared with conviction. Mmmm!

We asked Ashley to pick out a few of her favorite things to share with you. This is what she found:

Embroidered Pillow: Baudard Linen Decorative Cushion – “I Love the embroidered flowers and the green and grey color scheme.”

Sofa: Duralee – “The simplicity is beautiful.”

Upholstery Fabric: Clarke & Clarke – “The green is fantastic, and the fabric is even named after me! ‘Ashley Pattern’ ”

Fixture: Crystorama – “Modern chandeliers are so cool.”

Inspiration Image: “Black frames & black and white art hung on an empty wall is my favorite…”

Finally, I asked Ashley, “What’s the most important lesson you’ve learned during your time at J.Banks?”

She said, “I guess the main thing I learned at J. Banks was never to be afraid to ask questions. Asking questions was the way that I was able to learn as much as I did during the internship.”

A great lesson… A great collection of cool items… And a great girl!

We will miss you Ashley.

JB

3 Comments

Filed under J Banks Design Group

3 responses to “JB Hearts Our Interns

  1. Amy Sullivan

    I was happy to learn more about the quality experience Ashley is receiving. I hope more Winthrop University students will take advantage of this experience.
    Amy Sullivan
    Director, Career and Civic Engagement
    Winthrop University

  2. jennfarese

    Ashley, Butterfinger is my favorite too!!! You have been so great to work with & you will be missed!

  3. Dana

    Ashley, Looks like you had a great experience at J. Banks, you have truly learned from “the best”.
    Trust me, I once was a J. Banks girl as well!

Leave a Reply

